CFAR Funding Programs

CFAR provides direct funding for innovative and developmental research through programs administered by the Developmental CoreExplore all awards in in our online database.

From 2007-2022 we have distributed awards in excess of $12.3 MM for more than 280 research projects.

CFAR offers three types of Developmental Awards mechanisms: Mentored Science AwardInternational Mentored Scientist Award, and Pilot Award for Investigators New to HIV. Applications are administered through the RAP Allocation Program.

CFAR has made several strategic updates to Developmental Award programs, highlighted below:

  1. Award amounts have been increased for all CFAR programs (Mentored Scientist and Pilot Awards to $50,000 for one year and the International Mentored Science Award to $30,000 for one year.)
  2. The Basic Science program has been combined with the Mentored Scientist Program. 
  3. Eligibility Criteria have changed for the Mentored Scientist and Pilot Award Programs:
    • The Mentored Scientist Award program is targeted to early stage investigators (clinical or postdoctoral fellows or faculty at the assistant professor level or below).
    • The Pilot Award Program is now targeted to investigators who are new to HIV (assistant or associate faculty with no prior HIV funding).
  4. All projects must be within NIH’s HIV/AIDS research high or medium priority areas.

Active Award Programs

Program Developmental International Focus Supplemental
Maximum Award Amount $50,000 $30,000 $75K-$100,000+
Award Period 1 year 1 year 1 year
Mentored Scientist Award    
Pilot Award for Investigators New to HIV    
International Mentored Scientist Award    
Supplemental Awards (EHE, MPX, CFAR Administrative)    

Recent Awards

11 Awards

Award Recipient Award date Award Type
PrEP Choice: Developing a PrEP decision support tool for young men who have sex with men Hyman Scott Fall Mentored Scientist Award
Systematic testing for HIV and tuberculosis among community members attending social drinking venues in Lusaka, Zambia Andrew Kerkhoff Fall Mentored Scientist Award
Modulating Interleukin-2-Inducible T-cell Kinase (ITK) to Target HIV Persistence Prerna Dabral Fall Mentored Scientist Award
Hyperlipidemia and Primary Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease Among Persons Living with HIV in East Africa Megan McLaughlin Fall Mentored Scientist Award
Deep analysis of SARS-CoV-2-specific serological and T cell responses in people living with HIV Tongcui Ma Fall Mentored Scientist Award
Prevalence and outcomes associated with SARS-COV-2 antibody seropositivity among persons at risk for tuberculosis in a high HIV-burden setting: a cohort study in Lusaka, Zambia Nsala Sanjase Spring International Mentored Scientist Award
Potential for Xpert MTB/RIF Ultra cycle threshold values to monitor early response to anti-TB treatment in HIV co-infected patients on antiretroviral therapy Juliet Namugenyi Spring International Mentored Scientist Award
HIV Cure via Direct Cytotoxic Depletion of the HIV Reservoir Jesse Deere Spring Mentored Scientist Award
Antiretroviral Drug Penetration in HIV Reservoir Sites using Tissue from Deceased Donors Amelia Deitchman Spring Mentored Scientist Award
Modulation of mTOR signaling using metformin during therapeutic SIV vaccination to achieve stringent post-treatment control Gema Mendez-Lagares Spring Mentored Scientist Award
Inflammation, Aging, Microbes, Obstructive Lung Disease, and Diffusion Abnormalities (I AM OLD-DA): IDO Activity as a Driver of Lung Disease by Sex (IDOLS) Rebecca Abelman Spring Mentored Scientist Award