Check out UCSF's participation in CROI 2022

Dear HIV Research Community,

We are proud to share this extensive list of UCSF-affiliated presentations and other participation at CROI 2022. Investigators from UCSF, Gladstone Institutes, SFDPH, SFVAMC, and Vitalant are presenting 7 oral abstracts, 24 posters, giving 6 presentations at other sessions, and moderating or convening 8 sessions. We encourage you to look through the wide variety of science happening here and consider supporting your colleagues by attending their sessions. If we’ve somehow missed your presentation, please let us know by emailing [email protected], and we will update it below. 

Thank you!

CFAR and ARI Leadership

Jump to a specific date: Sat 2/12 | Sun 2/13 | Mon 2/14 | Tue 2/15 | Wed 2/16 | Tue 2/22 | Thu 2/24

Saturday, 2/12

Scott M. Hammer Workshop for New Investigators and Trainees

Talk title: ADVANCES IN HIV CURE WITH CLINICAL PERSPECTIVES

Talk time: 11:15-11:50a MT/10:15-10:50a PT

Speaker: Peter Hunt, UCSF


Sunday, 2/13

Workshop 4: CLINICAL TRIAL DESIGN AND ANALYSIS

Time: 11:00a-1:00p MT/10:00a-12:00p PT

Convener: Susan Buchbinder, SFDPH


Monday, 2/14

Oral Abstract Sessions

Oral Abstract Session-1: TARGETS AND BARRIERS TO VIRAL INFECTION

Time: 9:45-11:45a MT/8:45-10:45a PT

  • Oral Abstract 18: HIV INFECTION OF BRAIN ORGANOID MICROGLIA INDUCES INFLAMMATION AND NEURONAL DEATH
    • Presenter: Weili Kong, Gladstone Institutes
    • Time: 9:50-9:58a MT/8:50-8:58a PT
  • Oral Abstract 20: CyTOF-Lec REVEALS GLYCAN FEATURES DEFINING CELLS DIFFERENTIALLY SUSCEPTIBLE TO HIV
    • Presenter: Tongcui Ma, Gladstone Institutes
    • Time: 10:06-10:14a MT/9:06-9:14a PT
  • Oral Abstract 26: SARS-CoV-2 SPIKE BINDS FIBRINOGEN-INDUCING ABNORMAL INFLAMMATORY BLOOD CLOTS
    • Presenter: Mauricio Montano, Gladstone Institutes
    • Time: 11:17-11:25a MT/10:17-10:25a PT

Oral Abstract Session-3: MALIGNANCIES AND COMORBIDITIES: AN INCREASING BURDEN

Time: 9:45-11:45a MT/8:45-10:45a PT

Moderator: Peter Hunt, UCSF

  • Oral Abstract 36: INFLAMMATION AND KYNURENINE PATHWAY LINKED TO TYPE 2 DIABETES AND FAT FIBROSIS IN HIV
    • Presenter: Diana Alba, UCSF
    • Time: 10:06-10:14a MT/9:06-9:14a PT

Oral Abstract Session-4: EVOLVING EPIDEMIOLOGY OF HIV AND SARS-CoV-2

Time: 9:45-11:45a MT/8:45-10:45a PT

Moderator: Susan Buchbinder, SFDPH

Interactive Sessions

Interactive Session-2: COVID-19 TREATMENT: CONSENSUS AND CONTROVERSIES

Time: 12:00-1:00p MT/11:00a-12:00p PT

Moderator: Annie Luetkemeyer, UCSF

Poster Sessions

Poster Session-B04: HIV Transmission

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 213: STROMAL FIBROBLASTS FROM FEMALE GENITAL TRACT DIMINISH THE IN VITRO EFFICACY OF PrEP
    • Presenter: Ashley George, Gladstone Institutes

Poster Session-E04: CONTROLLERS AND POST-TREATMENT CONTROLLERS

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 362: POST-TREATMENT CONTROLLERS LIMIT COMPLETED AND SPLICED HIV TRANSCRIPTS AFTER ATI
    • Presenter: Adam Wedrychowski, SFVAMC

Poster Session-J01: FATTY LIVER, NAFL, MAFL, AND NASH

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 523: HIGH INCIDENCE RATE OF CT-MEASURED NAFLD IN MEN WITH AND WITHOUT HIV INFECTION
    • Presenter: Jennifer Price, UCSF

Poster Session-K01: CANCER RISK, TREATMENT, AND EPIDEMIOLOGY

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 552: DISTINCT CANCERS HAVE DISTINCT INFLAMMATORY PREDICTORS IN TREATED HIV
    • Presenter: Peter Hunt, UCSF

Poster Session-N01: POSTACUTE SEQUELLAE OF SARS-CoV-2 INFECTIONS

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 631: NEUROLOGIC AND IMMUNOLOGIC BIOMARKERS ASSOCIATED WITH POST-COVID NEUROLOGIC SYMPTOMS
    • Presenter: Michael Peluso, UCSF
 

Tuesday, 2/15

Oral Abstract Sessions

Oral Abstract Session-6: TUBERCULOSIS, OPPORTUNISTIC INFECTIONS, AND HEPATITIS

Time: 9:45-11:45a MT/8:45-10:45a PT

  • Oral Abstract 75: CLUSTER RCT OF A MID-LEVEL MANAGER INTERVENTION TO PROMOTE IPT UPTAKE IN UGANDA
    • Presenter: Elijah Kakande
    • Time: 10:45-10:53a MT/9:45-9:53a PT

Oral Abstract Session-7: HIV PREVENTION: FROM THE BENCH TO POPULATION

Time: 9:45-11:45a MT/8:45-10:45a PT

  • Oral Abstract 82: PHASE I PK, SAFETY, AND ACCEPTABILITY STUDY OF A 90-DAY TENOFOVIR VAGINAL RING
    • Presenter: Albert Liu, SFDPH
    • Time: 10:06-10:14a MT/9:06-9:14a PT

Oral Abstract Session-9: SARS-CoV-2 ANTIVIRALS AND OUTCOMES

Time: 9:45-11:45a MT/8:45-10:45a PT

  • Oral Abstract 99: INFLAMMATION, EXERCISE CAPACITY, CHRONOTOPY, AND SYMPTOMS IN POST-ACUTE COVID-19
    • Presenter: Matthew Durstenfeld, UCSF
    • Time: 10:06-10:14a MT/9:06-9:14a PT

Interactive Sessions

Interactive Session-4: LONG COVID: FROM BENCH TO BEDSIDE AND BEYOND

Time: 12:00-1:00p MT/11:00a-12:00p PT

  • PUTTING LONG COVID IN CONTEXT
    • Presenter: Steven Deeks, UCSF
    • Time: 12:00-12:10p MT/11:00-11:10a PT

Interactive Session-5: WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO INCREASE PEP AND PrEP USE FOR ADOLESCENT GIRLS AND YOUNG WOMEN AT RISK?

Time: 12:00-1:00p MT/11:00a-12:00p PT

Moderator: Susan Buchbinder, SFDPH

Special Sessions

Special Session: ANAL CANCER PREVENTION AND MANAGEMENT

Time: 1:15-2:00p MT/12:15-1:00p PT

  • Oral Abstract 106: TREATMENT OF ANAL HIGH-GRADE SQUAMOUS INTRAEPITHELIAL LESIONS TO PREVENT ANAL CANCER
    • Presenter: Joel Palefsky, UCSF
    • Time: 1:15-1:35p MT/12:15-12:35p PT

Poster Sessions

Poster Session-A02: IMMUNE CELL INFECTION AND RESPONSES

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 171: NEUROPILIN-1 MEDIATES SARS-CoV-2 INFECTION OF ASTROCYTES PROMOTING NEURON DYSFUNCTION
    • Presenter: Weili Kong, Gladstone Institutes
  • Poster 172: GALECTIN-9 INDUCES SARS-CoV-2 REPLICATION AND INFLAMMATION IN AIRWAY EPITHELIAL CELLS
    • Presenter: Li Du, Vitalant Research Institute

Poster Session-D09: SARS-CoV-2 IMMUNOLOGY: T CELLS, NK CELLS, AND CYTOKINES

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 320: PREDICTING COVID-19 CLINICAL PROTECTIVE IMMUNITY FROM SARS-CoV-2 T-CELL RESPONSES
    • Presenter: Amanda Buck, UCSF

Poster Session-E01: SINGLE-CELL ANALYSES OF HIV RESERVOIRS

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 330: SINGLE-CELL MULTIOMICS ANALYSIS OF HIV RESERVOIR CELLS BY NOVEL T-TRACE APPROACH
    • Presenter: Julie Frouard, Gladstone Institutes

Poster Session-E06: DYNAMICS OF HIV RESERVOIRS AND VIRAL REBOUND

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 386: INTACT HIV TRANSCRIPTS ARE RARE IN ART-SUPPRESSED INDIVIDUALS
    • Presenter: Holly Martin, UCSF/SFVAMC

Poster Session-H02: NEW ANTIVIRALS FOR SARS-CoV-2: ACTIVITY IN VITRO AND IN VIVO

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 472: AN INTRANASAL SINGLE-ADMINISTRATION SARS-CoV-2 ANTIVIRAL LIMITS DEVELOPING RESISTANCE
    • Presenter: Leor Weinberger, Gladstone Institutes

Poster Session-O02: PHARMACOLOGIC RELATIONSHIPS ASSOCIATED WITH TB DRUGS AND OUTCOMES

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 653: ALCOHOL USE AND SUBOPTIMAL ADHERENCE TO ISONIAZID IN PERSONS WITH HIV AND LATENT TB
    • Presenter: Winnie Muyindike
  • Poster 661: CLOFAZIMINE DRUG LEVELS AND CARDIAC TOXICITY IN CHILDREN WITH RIFAMPICIN-RESISTANT TB
    • Presenter: Ali M. Ali, UCSF

Poster Session-O03: TB EPIDEMIOLOGY, TREATMENT, AND IMPLEMENTATION SCIENCE

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 661: PATIENT-LEVEL POOLED ANALYSIS OF STUDY 31/A5349, A STRATIFIED MEDICINE APPROACH
    • Presenter: Vincent Chang, UCSF

Poster Session-R05: RISK FACTORS FOR HIV ACQUISITION AND TRANSMISSION

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 789: HEAVY RAINFALL IS ASSOCIATED WITH HIGHER HIV PREVALENCE ACROSS SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA
    • Presenter: Karly Hampshire, UCSF

Poster Session-Y06: MENTAL HEALTH AND STIGMA

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 931: AGRICULTURAL LIVELIHOOD INTERVENTION REDUCES HIV STIGMA: RESULTS FROM A CLUSTER RCT
    • Presenter: Sheri Weiser, UCSF
 

Wednesday, 2/16

Plenary Session

Plenary Session-3: WEDNESDAY PLENARY SESSION

Time: 8:30-9:30a MT/7:30-8:30a PT

Moderator: Susan Buchbinder, SFDPH

Interactive Sessions

Interactive Session-8: IMPACT OF VIRAL LOAD IN TRANSMISSION AND DISEASE PROGRESSION OF SARS-CoV-2 INFECTION

Time: 12:00-1:00p MT/11:00a-12:00p PT

Moderator: Monica Gandhi, UCSF

  • IS SARS-CoV-2 VIRAL LOAD ASSOCIATED WITH DISEASE PROGRESSION AND RESPONSE TO TREATMENT?
    • Presenter: Matthew Spinelli, UCSF
    • Time: 12:12-12:22p MT/11:12-11:22a PT

Poster Sessions

Poster Session-E02: MECHANISMS OF HIV LATENCY: MAINTENANCE AND REVERSAL

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 336: SMYD5 ACTIVATES HIV-1 TRANSCRIPTION AND IS UPREGULATED BY Tat AND USP11
    • Presenter: Daniela Boehm, Gladstone Institutes
  • Poster 341: IDENTIFICATION OF SYNERGISTIC COMBINATIONS OF HIV SILENCING PROMOTING FACTORS
    • Presenter: Zichong Li, Gladstone Institutes

Poster Session-G03: FROM FORMULATION TO DRUG EXPOSURE TO ADHERENCE: IMPORTANT PRINCIPLES IN PHARMACOLOGY

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 452: NOVEL PHASE II TRIAL DESIGN WITH STRATIFIED MEDICINE PRINCIPLES FOR TREATMENT OF TB
    • Presenter: Marjorie Imperial, UCSF

Poster Session-M01: WEIGHT GAIN AND ADIPOSE TISSUE BIOLOGY

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 596: WEIGHT CHANGE FOLLOWING SWITCH TO DOLUTEGRAVIR IN RURAL KENYA
    • Presenter: Matthew Hickey, UCSF

Poster Session-O01: NOVEL MYCOBACTERIAL DIAGNOSTICS AND BIOMARKERS

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 649: BLOOD-BASED PATHOGEN AND HOST BIOMARKER SIGNATURES THAT PREDICT TB TREATMENT OUTCOMES
    • Presenter: Marjorie Imperial, UCSF

Poster Session-R03: HIV CARE OUTCOMES

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 775: EFFECT OF SOCIAL DETERMINANTS OF HEALTH ON UNCONTROLLED HIV INFECTION
    • Presenter: Jason S. Melo, SFDPH

Poster Session-Y01: VIRAL LOAD MEASUREMENT AND SUPPRESSION

Time: 2:00-3:30p MT/1:00-2:30p PT

  • Poster 888: INCREASED HIV VIRAL SUPPRESSION DURING COVID-19 AMONG US URBAN PEOPLE WITH HIV
    • Presenter: Matthew Spinelli, UCSF
  • Poster 891: RCT OF A MULTISECTORAL AGRICULTURAL INTERVENTION TO IMPROVE HIV AND HEALTH OUTCOMES
    • Presenter: Craig Cohen, UCSF
 

Tuesday, 2/22

Symposia

Symposium-3: BRINGING CHOICE TO HIV PREVENTION

Time: 12:00-1:30p MT/11:00a-12:30p PT

  • Talk title: Oral Abstract 57: PREPARING FOR THE PLATE OF PREVENTION OPTIONS: HOW CAN WE DELIVER?
    • Talk time: 12:00-12:20p MT/11:00-11:20a PT
    • Speaker: Hyman Scott, SFDPH
  • Talk title: Oral Abstract 59: APPLYING LESSONS ON EFFICACY AND AUTONOMY FROM CONTRACEPTION TO PrEP
    • Talk time: 12:40-1:00p MT/11:40a-12:00p PT
    • Speaker: Dominika Seidman, UCSF

       

Thursday, 2/24

Symposia

Symposium-8: HIV AND AGING

Time: 10:15-11:45a MT/9:15-10:45a PT

Convener: Peter Hunt, UCSF