Internal Advisory Board

In Fall 2019, the UCSF-Gladstone CFAR reconfigured and redesigned the function of its Internal Advisory Board (IAB). The purpose of the IAB is to provide strategic guidance and input to the new CFAR leadership as they brainstorm and plan new activities, develop policies and procedures, and evaluate existing cores and services moving into the competitive renewal due in August 2021.

A diversity of perspectives is vital to the functioning of the board. The committee represents a cross-section of HIV research at UCSF and our partner institutions.

We encourage members of the CFAR research community to contact their standing member or CFAR leadership with feedback for CFAR.

The board will meet on an as-needed basis, typically after the newly-established monthly Wednesday morning CFAR seminar. Contact Lauren Sterling for additional information.

Standing Members 

Standing members represent CFAR’s leading institutions or programs. Designated delegates if members cannot attend are listed (in parentheses).

  • Susan Buchbinder, MD; San Francisco Department of Public Health (delegate Hyman Scott, MD, MPH; SFDPH)
  • Carol Dawson-Rose, RN, PhD, FAAN; UCSF School of Nursing (delegate Emily Tuthill, PhD; UCSF SON)
  • Joel Ernst, MD; UCSF Division of Experimental Medicine (delegate Peter Hunt, MD; UCSF DEM)
  • Diane Havlir, MD; UCSF Division of HIV, Infectious Diseases, and Global Medicine (delegate Monica Gandhi, MD, MPH; UCSF Division of HIV/ID/GM)
  • Melanie Ott, PhD; Gladstone Institutes (delegate Nevan Krogan, PhD; Gladstone)
  • Satish Pillai, PhD; Vitalant Research Institute (delegate Philip Norris, PhD; Vitalant)
  • Steve Yukl, MD; San Francisco Veterans Association Medical Center/NCIRE (delegate Joe Wong, MD; SFVAMC)

Members At-Large

The rest of the HIV research enterprise is represented by members-at-large, with the first round recruited Fall 2019 and the second in Spring 2022. IAB Members-at-Large serve two-year terms based on their interest, involvement, and the timing of the CFAR re-competition. The next round of recruitment for members-at-large will occur in spring 2023. 

  • Jerry John Nutor, PhD, RN, MSAssistant Professor, Family Health Care Nursing, UCSF School of Nursing

Member Information